top of page

Driven - First Review


I have received my first review on Driven and I am stunned and without words. Lisa Cullinan brought me to tears with the amazing review she wrote for my book. Below, the complete review from Amazon.com.

Thank you, Lisa Cullinan!!!

**Review**

I found the link for Driven while going through the messages on my blog, and I'm sure glad I did. I can't remember the last time I'd been so profoundly touched by a book. This is the story of Hyatt Thebes and Chris Bluff, and their journey will bring out every emotion under the sun. While the two of them travel across America, each stop is a new experience, whether it be good or bad, as they find out so much about themselves, physically, mentally, and emotionally. The things that happen to them along the way are priceless. At times, I felt like I was watching Forrest Gump. Truly fantastic. Hyatt Thebes is an eighteen-year-old (almost nineteen) homeless young man whose current circumstances couldn't get any worse. Desperate for work, he answers an ad from someone needing a travel companion to drive from Atlanta to San Jose, California, where Chris is set to start college within the following two weeks. To give you an idea of how this story moves forward, it's all in the little details, the reality of what Hyatt's life is really like. The computer he uses? It's from the public library. The shelters he finds sleep in? He's a target for perverts looking to molest him. Even in order to see if his email for the job gets a reply, it's back to the library. He's not a drug addict, a thief, or a bully. His crime? He's gay. He has no friends. His ignorant aunt threw him out of his own home. He has no family after a tragedy took them away. How he managed to live on the streets for the last eighteen months and still find whatever goodness he can in this world is a miracle. At times, he's as naive as they come, not yet jaded, hopeful, and compassionate, yet he'll throw you a curveball and know when he's being used or when someone has an ulterior motive. It's just that Hyatt is so darn nice ... and smart and funny and thoughtful and well-mannered ... and desperate to be wanted. Desperate to be loved. I LOVE HIM. More pages than not, I was literally holding my chest from the pain and sadness I felt for this precious soul. Hyatt doesn't understand why people don't want him, or why they leave him: ~ “Baby, what’s the matter? Why are you crying?” Chris asked as he let go of Hyatt’s hand and lifted it, stroking a tear away from his cheekbone. “Nobody’s ever wanted me before," he whispered. Chris choked back a sob of his own. How sad that this beautiful, perfect man hadn’t been wanted by someone. Not truly wanted at any rate. “Well, I want you. I want you in my arms at night. I want you in my thoughts during the day. I want you to invade all of my dreams, and all of my consciousness. I want you, Hyatt. All of you. Can you give me that?” ~ When a rare occurrence came about where someone showed him an ounce of kindness, his gratitude was just heart wrenching: ~ The manager smiled and nodded as he went inside. Before he shut the door, he looked once more at the nice looking young man sitting outside. “Do you need some help?” he asked. The Salvation Army, after all, was there to help those in need, not turn their backs on them. “Well, actually, if you have the time. I could use some clothes. I only have what you see and one more clean shirt. Would you have something you were gonna get rid of that I could have?” Hyatt asked. ~ I can't even read this again without crying. Hyatt's self-worth is non-existent, yet no one deserves to be treasured more than he does. Asking the Salvation Army if there was something they were going to get rid of? ... my heart ... Chris Bluff is a bit older than Hyatt. He's was recently discharged from the Army and is looking for someone to help with the driving across the country. He's regimented, in top physical shape, and seems to be always in control. He also suffers from PTSD. Chris comes across as quite arrogant in the beginning but his personality thaws as the miles go by. He's very protective of Hyatt and has his best interest at heart, but Chris definitely fails miserably when it comes to communicating his feelings towards him. There are more times through out this book where Chris was amazing with Hyatt in every aspect, yet there were times when Chris messed up royally. Those were the times when we realize that Chris is just a kid himself. Just because he's twenty-three years old, certainly doesn't make him the man with all the answers. The duo are full of surprises. Hyatt, at times, behaves way more mature than Chris does. The common denominator is that they've both been exposed to their very own version of a life-changing tragedy and are struggling while working through its aftermath. The journey ends but not really. These two have plenty more to do and say and see. The storyline is truly brilliant. Driven is a book that once it's started, it can't be put down. The author does an outstanding job showing us Hyatt and Chris's road trip. His attention to the slightest detail has painted a crystal clear picture in my mind's eye of all the places visited, from Graceland to the Holiday Inn Express ... but the words—the simple and funny words, the heartfelt words, the agonizing words, have all been spun and woven together so perfectly, creating a beautiful and poignant coming-of-age treasure. Honestly, five-stars aren't enough. Yes, I highly, absolutely, and positively recommend this book, and I can't wait to read more from this incredibly talented author—Conner Chouchet.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page