top of page

Straight Man Gay - Danny Culpepper


Just about a year ago, I pondered things I’d not pondered before. One of those things I pondered was “Are there books with male-male relationships, story lines and good plots?”

Thus, my search began. I had a subscription to SCRIBD.COM, which I used to begin my search. I found several and they all looked about the same. The blurbs were the same. “Jock finds out more about himself than he thought,” kind of story.

Then, upon my search, I found a book that caught my attention. It had a drawn cover, bright and attractive colors, and the title, Straight Man Gay, caught my attention. Since I was getting the book under my subscription, I figured I’d give it a read.

I have never been happier to have made an impromptu decision. Danny Culpepper, the author of this amazing series, is fun, he’s creative, and he is one of the best authors I have read. He took me a day or two to figure out slang that was used in London, England, but past that, I loved this book!

Straight Man Gay One introduced me to characters I loved and others I hated. To begin, Brian Mallory is an amazing man. I cannot even begin to both dream about him being my mate, but being like him as a mate and a friend to others. His patience doesn’t seem to have a boundary and when he loves—it is unconditional. He is understanding and accepting, contrary to his reputation as a multi-millionaire man-about-town. He hails from Scotland and is a self-made man. All the women want him, and all the men want to be him. It is like he has the Midas touch in business and pleasure.

In comes a potential disruption in a small gay actor of some acclaim: John Kaiser. He is currently working in the third year of a series that is set in London, but has an American detective. John is American. He is quirky, handsome, and charming. His very best friends are interesting to find a descriptive term.

Prissy is the smallest and spunkiest of all the “nincompoops”. He loves the color pink, wears a pink bow in his bright yellow hair, and does what he wants, even if the want is stripping to nothing.

Ben is a ginger who is also gay. He is one step up from Prissy in gaydom. He is loving and kind, slight of build but would jump in front of anyone to protect him.

Jeff is closer to John in behavior, though he is also small in build. He is particular about air quality, and as a voice actor, it is understood and expected.

These three men are balanced by Martin. The straight man in their crew of friends. He is the voice of reason and pretty much their big brother. He keeps them in line and says the things that need to be saying but nobody else will say.

As the stories progress, there is angst, horrible events, funny situations, literal pain and fear, and you begin to see the pasts of each of the characters and what made them the men that they are today.

Of course, there’s a woman. What good would a story with a straight man be if there wasn’t some conniving bitch out there just waiting with her claws out—Carol Lexington is that she-witch. You'll meet her soon enough. But like the rest, her past dictates her present. You'll see!

I couldn’t put this book down. I read it in two days, even though it is over 400 pages in length.

Straight Man Gay Two and Three continue the story. Like any good author with a good story, books one, two, and three all leave you wondering what is happening to John or Brian. And it’s always there, in the back of your mind.

After an initial invitation into the lives of actors, millionaires, and their friends, we get to the story quickly. Bad boyfriends, drunkards, and unrequited love all complicate the peaceful lives of Brian and John.

John’s friends manage to insinuate themselves into Brian’s life and he welcomes them with open arms. Why? Because he loves John—unconditionally, and has considered Prissy, Ben, Jeff, and Martin as extensions of John, therefore, loved at some level, too.

Everything Brian does is to make John happy. Oh, what a lovely way to live! He is happiest when he knows John is happy.

The most interesting thing about the story is how little Brian thinks of appearance. He could not care less about someone’s face, their clothing, their height or weight. He has hypersensitive olfactory senses and that is where his disgust or his love begins.

We learn more of that, Brian’s parents, and family, and satellite characters which all begin to tie the story and backgrounds together seamlessly.

I cannot wait to find a surprise in Straight Man Gay Four when it comes out. I’m excited, Danny Culpepper, to read further into your wonderful loving story of men who are trying to make it in London where they hear more negativity than acceptance. Keep up the amazing work, Danny, and I will keep telling others about your amazing story.


bottom of page