top of page

Boystown Series - Jake Biondi


A while back, I started reading a book called Boystown Season 1. That story was an amazing introduction into Boystown, a community within Chicago in Illinois.

From the first pages of Season 1, I was hooked. The way that each character was compelling, intriguing, and otherwise emotionally distinct kept me thinking about the characters when I finished the story.

Beginning with Derrick, Joyelle, and Emmett with Keith, or Max. Max with Logan or Emmett. Logan drinks too much, Keith controls too much, and Max wants too much. The story drew me in and kept me reading. I could not put the books down. Everyone confused me, and I had to take some time to resolve the relationships. I felt so bad for Emmett every step of the way and I was endeared with him, above all.

In the Boystown series, it seemed that Emmett was the least corrupt until Michael came along. In a town where it seems the lines between relationship and compulsion get clouded on an hourly basis, these two men kept their integrity above board. I cheered for Emmett to win. Every time, however, his heart seemed to be tugged and pulled just to be torn apart.

As for the scenes where sex was involved? I cannot say enough about how I felt. It was as though I was invading on every couple making love, not just bumping and grinding. The peaceful and loving way that Jake Biondi explains how each couple copulates, has sex, or makes love, gave me goosebumps more than it stimulated my own libido (though it did that well, indeed!).

With each new season, new characters came into the picture. Every new character, Michael, Patrick, Dustin,the twins who didn't know they were twins, and others come to town. I really love the inclusion or exclusion each one and how they made me feel.

No matter the story plot, there is the Mancini/Ciancio feud. One that becomes much more clear in Season 7, though 1 through 6 clearly lines out that there is a problem. Each Season alludes to bits and pieces as they're introduced.

Murder, cheating, destruction, deception, and keeping problems to themselves, each person made me feel like jumping into the pages of each book and shaking some sense into them.

I became excited when Emmett decorated his apartment for Christmas. I loved the way that Derek finally discovered who he truly wanted. I wanted to be there when they had their parties and when they had their sadness. I wondered, many times, at the level of forgiveness that was given to each and every person within the seasons. I loved it, but my personal viewpoint was questioned when Emmett forgave Keith, Max, and pretty much everyone else. I do love Emmett.

The settings follow through the entire series, as well. The hospital where Joyelle works has become a meeting place. The Boys and the Booze is a fun restaurant and club for anyone in Boystown or Chicago.

I can't even begin to tell my readers how amazing this series is, and I cannot tell you enough times that this is a "TO READ" story. Jake Biondi is a masterful author whose entire series is one that should be seen as well as read.

In the latest season, Season 7, I growled at the cliffhanger ending, though I expected nothing less. Seasons 1 through 6 left me with questions, too. It's frustrating and compelling at the same time.

I would love to see this series on television. To see the men and women of the Boystown community come to life would give me great joy.

Good job, Jake! I'm excited to see where we go in Episode 8.


bottom of page